School Curriculum and Assessment

There are 4 Key Stages at Edison International Academy.

1. Early Years Foundation Stage (Preschool & Reception):

Here, children follow a curriculum called Early Years Foundation Stage Framework which is largely play-based and involves a balance between ‘child-initiated’ and ‘adult-initiated’ activities.

Children’s learning is divided into 7 Learning Areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Art and Design
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

In addition to the above, your children will also be educated in Arabic (2 lessons per week) and Islamic Studies (1 lesson per week) in line with the curriculum stipulated by the Supreme Education Council of the State of Qatar.

Each teacher in the Early Years foundation Stage is supported by a teaching assistant.

There are no formal written examinations in the Early Years Foundation Stage, however, children’s learning is assessed by means of continuous assessment of all learning areas, to see whether or not the learning goals stipulated in the curriculum have been achieved.

2. Key Stage 1 (Year 1 & Year 2):

These are the first classes to follow the National Curriculum of England Framework, which includes the core subjects of English, Maths, Science and Social Studies. However, children also experience Music, Art, French, PE and Physical, Social and Health Education (PSHE), all of which build on the skills your child has acquired during the Early Years Foundation Stage.

Additionally, your child will have lessons in Arabic (5 lessons per week), Islamic Studies (2 lessons per week) and Qatar History (1 lesson per week), based on the curriculum set by the Supreme Education Council of the State of Qatar.

Instruction in Key Stage 1 is naturally more formal than in the Early Years Foundation Stage, but there is still enough time for play.

In Year 1, children will be assessed continuously, to see whether or not learning goals have been achieved. However, towards the end of Term 3, there will be a more formal baseline reading test; all other subjects will be assessed by means of continuous assessment.

In Year 2, children will also be assessed mainly by means of continuous assessment. Yet, towards the end of Term 3, there will be a summative baseline test based on the SATs stipulated by the National Curriculum in English, Maths and Science in addition to a reading level test, to determine whether or not your child is able to move on to the more demanding Key Stage 2.

A teaching assistant will aid the class teacher during the school day.

3. Key Stage 2 (Year 3 – Year 6)

In the lower Key Stage 2 (Years 3 & 4), children typically continue to build on their previous knowledge and skills.

In addition to the statutory National Curriculum of England subjects, children will have Arabic (5 lessons per week) as well as Islamic Studies (3 lessons per week) and Qatar History (1 lesson per week).

Assessment in Term 1 and Term 2 is set out as a continuous assessment. However, towards the end of Term 3, there is a baseline assessment based on SATs, where children are summative assessed in English, Maths and Science, as well as their reading being levelled.

Children in Year 6 will write the standard SATs papers, which will be assessed by an outside body, in order to determine whether or not they have grasped the concepts well enough to proceed to Key Stage 3.

4. Key Stage 3 (Year 7 – Year 9):

Again, children in our Key Stage 3 follow the National Curriculum of England. Subject areas are identical with the ones described under Key Stage 2. In Key Stage 2, however, children will slowly begin to work towards the IGCSE’s for which an intensive preparation is to follow in Year 10.

Assessment in Key Stage 3 is termly by means of written summative examinations.

 NOTE: Formative assessments (continuous) as well as more summative assessments (spelling tests, end of unit tests, etc.) may not always be announced to children and parents. It is expected for children to regularly revise the content covered in class, so that maximum learning outcomes can be achieved.

5. Key Stage 4 (Year 10 & Year 11):

In Key Stage 4, children will start preparing intensively for the IGCSE’s; the examination will take place in Year 11, and will be set, administered and marked by an outside body.

At the school, we currently offer the following subjects for the IGCSE’s:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science (double award)
  • History
  • Geography
  • Global Citizenship
  • Arabic (mother tongue)
  • Islamiyat (Islamic Studies in English)
  • ICT

Parental support in Key Stages 3 & 4 is paramount for children to be successful in these examinations. Children in these year groups are expected to be disciplined and to take responsibility for their learning, so that they can work towards achieving international standards in their education.


Homework is given on a daily basis and is designed to revise and complement what was learnt during the school day. All children are expected to complete homework assignments to the best of their ability and to hand these back to their class teacher on the day specified.

Please check your child’s homework diary regularly to ensure that all tasks are completed.